Prey overwrote my new device as the stolen one
Don’t delete the original device entry! If you do, you will lose every chance of recovering your stolen device.
This is a known issue when hardware information is shared between devices or, in iOS case, when devices with the same OS get their information synced via iCloud. As a consequence, they share the same entry on your account, and, if you save them as Missing, the overwritten device will start reporting too.
To fix this, we’ll need to upgrade your account to a business one, so you have access to a specific setting. Please mind that if you have 30 slots on your account or more, you won’t need to contact us. If you need the upgrade, please reach us at email@example.com and we’ll get back to you quickly.
As soon as you have access to that function, please go to the Device Management tab on your Prey account, and disable the ‘Identify devices when linking. Overwrite devices if their hardware information already exists on this account.’
Once you save changes please let us know so we can revert your account to its normal state. The setting will disappear, but it will persist on your account. To re-add the new device, uninstall the app completely from the new device, then reinstall and configure it typing your password with the app open from the device you’ll add to your devices list again.
What can I do if my stolen phone keeps showing my new device's information?
First of all, avoid panicking. This is normal behavior and it’s because your old and new phones were already detected as one, but the problem will revert on its own. As soon as the stolen device connects with our servers, its information will be updated to the original one. Just make sure you keep the old device entry and wait for it to start reporting.