User and device groups
Say your organization has three offices across the world, and devices move between the offices, and so do the people that manage them - keeping track of each Prey account and which devices they’re allowed to manage can be pretty stressful. Well, that’s where User and device groups come in to help!
In order to create a group, you first need to have at least one label and one user created. To learn more about labels, please read our article on labels and filters.
To create a group, navigate to the Users, roles and permissions section of your Prey Panel settings, select the Groups tab and follow the on-screen instructions.
Groups contain two elements: labels and users. You can add as many of them as you need, and create as many groups as you want. A few considerations that you should take into account:
- Labels are assigned to devices, and they can be moved between groups.
- Users within the group will be able to see and manage all the devices that have the corresponding label assigned to them, regardless of their permissions. If any user is removed from the group, they will no longer be able to see and manage the devices with the label unless they have the necessary permissions.
You can edit the groups you create at any time, moving users and labels between them.
So for the example above:
Let's say your organization manages offices in three cities: Santiago, San Francisco and Vancouver. Each office has their dedicated IT Manager, but employees (and their assigned devices) move from office to office periodically. You can label each of your devices according to the office they belong, and then create groups for those labels, adding each IT manager to their corresponding group.
So in this hypothetical case, if the IT Manager from Santiago moves to San Francisco, and takes with him a few of the devices he managed in Santiago, you can remove the label from those devices and assign them the label corresponding to the San Francisco office. Then all you have to do is remove the IT Manager from the Santiago group, and add them to the San Francisco group - as simple as that, the IT manager will be able to view and manage all the devices in the San Francisco group, including the ones he brought.
Now, let's say the Vancouver office is closing, and all their assets are being moved to Santiago. In this case you can remove the corresponding label from the Vancouver group, and reassign it to the Santiago group. Without changing the individual labels, all the devices will be automatically moved to the Santiago group, and the IT Manager in the Santiago group will now be able to view and manage those devices along with the ones that were already part of the group.
And that's about it! If you have any questions or need assistance in creating groups, feel free to contact our Support Team - they'll be happy to help!